New Barn Who Dis

Hey! Did ya forget about us? It’s been a minute. We’ve been busy getting all settled in at our winter home…the beautiful Big Rock Ranch.

Clay loves it there, and I love that I can lesson with great trainers regularly; in-house trainer Brittany Davis, and visiting clinician Kate Phillips who comes monthly.

As I’ve mentioned before, I pretty much made it through the past year without any lessons. We did our best on our own, and I am proud of myself for eeking out as much progress as I did–and made it through two successful shows with no coach–but there is no doubt that we could have advanced more quickly and in a more linear fashion if we could have had more lessons.

Now, in just one month of weekly lessons, many of my bad habits are being corrected, and Clay feels amazing. It is so priceless to have educated eyes on the ground.

Majestic, isn’t he?

Looking ahead to 2019, I am pressing pause on making any horse show plans or goals, and am instead spending my show budget on as many learning opportunities as I can swing.

We’re signed up to clinic with Martin Kuhn again this winter, and I hope to make it to a Paul Belasik clinic in the spring, too. We’re also heading to a bit-fitting clinic in a couple weeks, to get Clay a new snaffle and hopefully set up with a double as well.

Flying changes will hopefully begin this winter. We’re knocking on the door of Third level, and I’d ideally like to be solidly Third level before we show again. If that isn’t possible next summer then we will wait until 2020.

Enjoying a trail ride with our new barn mates, back before the snow!

Another big change to update you all on…I decided to offer my student Abby a partial lease on Clay this winter. She does chores at Big Rock, so she is there all the time anyway, and her lease on Piper was up in September so she was horseless. It has been awesome for everyone involved…Clay gets more exercise than what I can offer him by myself, and Abby is learning a lot and really enjoying him.

I call Abby my student, because that was my original relationship with her, but actually I am not teaching right now and she has been taking dressage lessons with Brittany Davis instead. It’s really fun to watch her develop her skills further with another trainer, and to watch her form a connection with Clay. I am very proud of the rider and horsewoman she is, and I think of her more as a peer than a student these days.

As an instructor, nothing is more rewarding than seeing your “kids” fly the nest, so to speak. I do miss teaching every day, but I am also grateful for this moment in time where I am free to really focus on my own education and riding. With my actual kid at an age where she is more independent from me and in daycare two days a week, AND with a heated barn to ride in now, I am looking forward to a winter of being able to train regularly for the first time in years.

And, winter it is! This week we were blessed with the first snow. Quite a bit of it, too! I am off to the barn now to switch out Clay’s turnout sheet for his winter blanket. I am not going to complain, I am not going to complain, I am not going to…But in all seriousness, I am feeling pretty grateful that snow and cold are the only down-sides of living where we do…

Our friends in CA are currently evacuating their homes due to wild-fire, and worrying over their horses’ safety. They could possibly lose their homes. What a scary reality. My heart aches for everyone affected, and I have been holding my breath waiting to hear that everyone we know is safe.

If you’re looking for ways to help, here is a list of some of the organizations supporting the relief efforts:

American Red Cross is setting up temporary shelters and food sites across the state. Donate to the efforts by going to their website or by texting REDCROSS to 90999 to make a $10 donation. You can request your money go towards CA relief efforts.

The Los Angeles Fire Department Foundation supports the first responders fighting on the frontlines of the wildfires. They are currently requesting donations to put towards hydration backpacks for the firefighters.

The CCF Wildfire Relief Fund supports immediate recovery efforts for major California wildfires, as well as long-term preparedness efforts.

The Humane Society of Ventura County is accepting animals evacuating from the Hill and Woolsey fires. You can donate directly to the organization via their website.

Thinking of you, CA friends.

Author: Tonia

Northern Wisconsin native, wife & mama, dressage rider & riding instructor, gardener, cooker & eater of good food, dog snuggler. IG: www.instagram.com/tonias

3 thoughts on “New Barn Who Dis”

  1. Great to see these photos. And I think training is so important. If Carl Hester says “invest in training” it must be the right thing to do. Thanks for giving the links to organizations helping in CA. I had been wondering about that.

    1. Yes indeed…Carl Hester is right about that, and most things Dressage-related, I imagine. 😉 I’ve always valued instruction/training/education, but nothing makes you appreciate something like going without it for a while! My beloved trainer Gina, who got us from square one to Second Level, has been caring for her ill mother and unable to teach…and the barn we left didn’t have anyone else coming in to teach (I was the instructor)…so, we mostly muddled through on our own and got out to clinics as often a I could afford to. It feels like a major luxury to be taking weekly lessons now! I’m a little sorry I waited as long as I did to make the move. Is it cold and snowy up by you too? We had a rather sudden onset of winter this past week…It’s only 17 degrees tonight! Good grief. Good for the deer hunters, and good for killing ticks…….

Leave a comment